Day 14

A weird food that I like

Pregnancy threw all types of different cravings at me (after the 22 weeks of morning sickness). Even things I didn’t usually like eating like gerkins.

But one of the weirdest things that I craved was raw broccoli. And I still eat it.

I was just cooking dinner one night and the raw broccoli smelt so good that I had to taste it raw. Now whenever there is raw broccoli around, you’ll catch me saving a good lot to snack on while I cook or whatever.

It’s actually probably not that weird but whenever I tell people they just look at me like “what bananas have you been eating lady?”

And I do believe that what you eat during pregnancy plays a role in shaping your baby’s preferences on what they eat. I’ve read it some where before. Not entirely but a little bit.

When I was pregnant I ate a lot of bananas, chicken, cheese and greens. My toddler can be picky with what she eats. Totally normal. But if she doesn’t eat anything and I give her cheese, chicken or a little branch of COOKED broccoli, she’s all dandy. She was a big fan of bananas for a long time but nope not anymore.

I also ate lots of strawberries and melons but she’s never been a fan like ever. I think she find strawberries to be too sour.

 

Anyway, wow, that’s a good ramble.

Oh. And here are a couple of articles about what you eat during pregnancy having a effect on your baby’s food preference later on. Interesting stuff.

http://www.npr.org/2011/08/08/139033757/babys-palate-and-food-memories-shaped-before-birth

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2014/apr/08/child-food-preferences-womb-pregnancy-foetus-taste-flavours

Author: Mackey

Hello! Come and check out my totally awesome blog. See you there!

4 thoughts on “Day 14”

    1. Ahh sorry again for my terribly late reply. It is really sour? I’ve seen then in shops before but can’t say I’ve had the delight of saying them haha what do you eat it with if anything? I’m interested and I want to hunt some down now haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment